News and events

News from Cass Business School

Nobel winners convene at Cass to judge Onassis Prizes

$200,000 prizes honour top academics in shipping, trade and finance

Two Nobel Prize winners were among a distinguished panel of judges who met at Cass Business School last week to decide the winners of the 2015 International Onassis Prizes.

The prizes, each worth $200,000, are awarded by the Onassis Public Benefit Foundation and Cass to globally renowned scholars in shipping, trade and finance. Held every three years, they are one of the most lucrative economics prizes in the world. 

Among the judges were the Nobel winners, Robert Merton, Professor of Finance at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and Professor Myron Scholes, Chairman of Platinum Grove Asset Management. 

Other judges included Antony Papadimitriou, President of the Onassis Public Benefit Foundation, and Professor Costas Grammenos, who founded Cass's Centre for Shipping, Trade and Finance, and was instrumental in launching the awards.

"It was a pleasure to welcome such an outstanding group of scholars to Cass," said Professor Grammenos. "The Onassis prizes are intended to honour academic achievements that have not previously had a platform for global recognition and will hopefully, in time, receive the same prestige as the Nobel Prize in Economics.

"We had a long and detailed discussion in which we considered the achievements of many leading international scholars who have profoundly influenced their disciplines. We look forward to announcing the winners at Mansion House later this year, ahead of a celebratory banquet at Guildhall in 2015."

The full panel of judges are: Mr Anthony S. Papadimitriou, President, Onassis Public Benefit Foundation; Professor George Constantinides, University of Chicago; Professor Costas Grammenos, Cass Business School; Professor Elhanan Helpman, Harvard University; Professor Robert Merton, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Nobel Laureate 1997); Professor Myron Scholes, Platinum Grove Asset Management (Nobel Laureate 1997); and Professor Eddy Van de Voorde, University of Antwerp. 

Previous winners


Onassis Prize in Finance - Professor Stephen Ross, Franco Modigliani Professor of Financial Economics, MIT 

Onassis Prize in International Trade - Professor Elhanan Helpman, Galen L. Stone Professor of International Trade, Havard University

Onassis Prize in Shipping - shared between three emeritus maritime academics, Professor Ernst Frankel, MIT; Professor Richard Goss, Cardiff University; and Professor Arnljot Stromme Svendsen, Norwegian School of Economics


Onassis Prize in Finance - Professor Eugene Fama,University of Chicago Booth School of Business

Share this article