Honorary Visiting Appointments

What are Honorary Visiting Appointments?

Honorary visiting appointments are offered to exceptional individuals who can demonstrably add value to the School's brand in an academic, research and/or professional capacity.

Appointments are unpaid and are initially for a period of three years. Honorary appointments are given access to the School’s library facilities, IT facilities, including a City University London’s affiliate email account. Honorary visiting appointment are expected to comply with University’s financial, academic and IT regulations. As well as contribute to the scholastic, education and/or research endeavour of the School.

There are three levels of appointment:

  • Honorary Visiting Fellow;
  • Honorary Senior Visiting Fellow; and
  • Honorary Visiting Professor.

Current Honorary Appointments

Honorary Visiting Professor

Faculty of Actuarial Science & Insurance

  • Prof Iain Allen
  • Prof Montserrat Guillen
  • Mr Patrick Liedtke
  • Dr Alan Punter
  • Prof Mario Wuthrich

Faculty of Finance

  • Prof Rym Ayadi
  • The Hon Apruv Bagri
  • Mr James Chew
  • Prof Colyn Gardner
  • Mr Alan Giles
  • Lord Brian Griffiths of Fforestfach
  • Sir Stelios Haji-Ioannu
  • Dr Jessica James
  • Dr Roy Leighton
  • Prof Liu Ming Kang
  • Prof Lucio Sarno
  • Prof Anthony Saunders
  • Dr Martin Stopford
  • Prof Siri Strandenes
  • Prof Wayne Talley
  • Prof Helen Thanopoulou
  • Lord Adair Turner
  • Prof Eddy Van de Voorde
  • Mr Lambros Varnavides
  • Mr Mohsen Ziya

Faculty of Management

  • Dr Tony Angel
  • Prof John Bateson
  • Prof George Brock
  • Mr Mike Brown
  • Prof Ian Bruce
  • Mr Rene Carayol
  • Dame Julia Cleverdon
  • Mr Michael Cullen
  • Mr Peter Cullum
  • Sir Stuart Etherington
  • Prof Igor Filatotchev
  • Prof Eileen Fischer
  • Mr Bob Garratt
  • Prof Rob Grant
  • Ms Julia Hobsbawm
  • Mr Andy Homer
  • Dr Rodrigo Jordan
  • Mr Philippos Kassimatis
  • Dr Diana Leat
  • Mr Peter Lees
  • Prof Gianni Lorenzoni
  • Mr David Macleod
  • Prof Gerlinde Mautner
  • Mr David Morley
  • Prof Paul Nightingale
  • Ms Natalie Reynolds
  • Mr Chris Roebuck
  • Sir William Sargent
  • Mr Andrew Sibbald
  • Mr Stefan Stern
  • Prof James Stoller
  • Mr Paul Richard Streets
  • Mr Jeremy White
  • Mrs Lynne Berry

Honorary Senior Visiting Fellow

Faculty of Actuarial Science & Insurance

  • Dr Margaret Ashwell
  • Dr Martin Karlsson
  • Dr Maria Dolores Martinez-Miranda
  • Mr Nick Silver

Faculty of Finance

  • Mr Marco Boldini
  • Dr Daniel Giamouridis
  • Mr Khurram Jafree
  • Mrs Susan Kilsby
  • Dr Stelios Markoulis
  • Mr Roger McCormick
  • Mr David Mellor
  • Mr Laurence Mutkin
  • Ms Jessica Pryce-Jones
  • Prof Georgious Skiadopoulos
  • Mr Chris Wagstaff

Faculty of Management

  • Ms Lucie Austin
  • Dr Douglas Board
  • Ms Caroline Copeman
  • Ms Denise Fellows
  • Mr Markus Kramer
  • Ms Jane Lawrie
  • Dr Harvey Lewis
  • Ms Alison Maitland
  • Mr Marc Meryon
  • Mr Chris Rodgers
  • Mr Julian Sawyer
  • Ms Su Sayer
  • Ms Kate Sayer
  • Mr Mark Sherwin
  • Mr Paul Sizeland
  • Mr David Stringer-Lamarre
  • Dr Vanina Jasmine Torlò
  • Dr Jeroen Veldman
  • Mr Matthew Watkinson
  • Dr Steve Waygood
  • Major Levison Wood

Honorary Visiting Fellow

Faculty of Actuarial Science & Insurance

  • Dr Maria Russolillo

Faculty of Finance

  • Mr Simon Brocklebank-Fowler
  • Mr Michel Driessen
  • Mr Mikael Homanen
  • Mr Philip Whitchelo
  • Mr Rip Zinsmeister

Faculty of Management

  • Mr Stephen Allan
  • Ms Fiona Ash
  • Mr Hanif Barma
  • Mr Andrew Baughen
  • Mr Anthony Carey
  • Dr Imogen Cleaver
  • Mr Andrew James Clifford
  • Ms Parveen Dhanda
  • Ms Christine Fogg
  • Dr Jaason Geerts
  • Mr Gianandrea Giochetta
  • Dr Wesley Harry
  • Mr Simon King-Cline
  • Mr Rob McCargow
  • Mr Federico Minoli
  • Mr Leslie Morgan
  • Mr Darren Munday
  • Mr Wayne Nelson
  • Mr David Rowe
  • Mr Richard Spencer

Application and approval process

Management of this process is undertaken by the School's Honorary Visiting Appointments Committee (a sub-Committee of Cass Board of Studies), which is responsible for the appointment, renewal and auditing of Honorary visiting staff to the School.

The Committee meets in November and May; however, applications will be considered throughout the year by email circulation.

Each level of appointment is considered equivalent to full-time staff membership and therefore the appointment process, particularly of Honorary Visiting Professors, is robust and involves gathering references and obtaining final approval by the President of City, University of London.

Honorary Visiting Appointment proposals

A member of Cass Academic staff will need to submit an Honorary Visiting appointment proposal. If you are a member of staff wishing to nominate an individual for an Honorary Visiting Appointment, please email cass-hva@city.ac.uk for the relevant forms. Any new appointments must be accompanied by a CV or Bio of the nominee. The staff member who is the proposer of the appointment, will also act as sponsor/Faculty liaison for the nominee during their term of appointment.

Guide for determining appropriate level of Honorary Visiting Appointment

Honorary Visiting Professor

  • Must hold an Academic Professorship or an industry role of equivalent standing (e.g. CEO)
  • International Thought Leader

Honorary Senior Visiting Fellow

  • Academic: Lecturer or Senior Reader
  • Industry: Group Level VP

Honorary Visiting Fellow

  • Academic: Lecturer or Research Fellow
  • Industry: Senior Manager, Entrepreneur, “Rising Star”

All honorary appointees must have a right to work in the UK.

If an individual is being nominated for Honorary Visiting Professor appointment, an additional Reference Details Form will also need to be completed, where appointee does not hold a full professorship in a UK University, Polytechnic or Overseas University. Referees themselves must be external to Cass and work at a similar level to the proposed nominee.

Please email cass-hva@city.ac.uk for the relevant form.

Length of Honorary Visiting Appointment

  • Appointments last for three years or where specified, up to three years.
  • Renewals are possible subject to completion of a reapplication process.
  • Appointments can be withdrawn by Cass with immediate effect where circumstances require.

Renewal or termination of Honorary Visiting Appointments

Honorary Visiting Appointments are renewable (subject to approval) after the initial three year term. Approximately two months prior to the end of appointments, Sponsors are asked whether the appointment should be renewed.

If an appointment is to continue, Sponsors will be asked to complete a Renewal Application Form (in collaboration with their HVAs) which will be submitted to the HVA Committee for consideration.

Appointments that will not be renewed are noted by the Committee and an end of appointment letter will be sent to HVAs.

Please direct all enquiries to cass-hva@city.ac.uk