4th Biennial

4th City of London Biennial Meeting

6-7 December 2005

Venue: International Maritime Organization, Albert Embankment, London

Organised by City University & Cass Business School

Sponsored by Maria Tsakos Foundation

The 4th Biennial was attended by over 700 delegates, and included a Keynote Speech by Dr. Supachai Panitchpakdi.

Session titles included The World Economy and Business, Financial Markets, Energy and Maritime Business, and were chaired by The Rt. Hon, The Lord Howe of Aberavon, CG, QC, The Lord Bagri, CBE, Chairman of Metdist Ltd, Alderman Sir David Howard Bt, Chairman of Charles Stanley & Co. Ltd, and Alderman Sir Gavyn Arthur.



10.00 - 10.30: WELCOME

The Rt. Hon. The Lord Mayor, Alderman David Brewer, CMG
Professor David Rhind, CBE, Vice-Chancellor, City University
Professor Costas Th. Grammenos, OBE, Chairman of Meeting

10.30 - 11.00: OPENING SESSION

Opening Keynote Speaker of the Biennial Meeting:

Dr. Supachai Panitchpakdi, Secretary General, UNCTAD

11.00 - 11.10: SHORT BREAK

Chairman: The Rt. Hon. The Lord Howe of Aberavon, CG, QC


  • The Hon. Apurv Bagri, Managing Director of Metdist Ltd
  • Dr. Robert Ting-Jieh Chu, President of Taiwan An Feng Steel Group
  • Mr. Andrew Gowers, former Editor of Financial Times
  • The Lord Griffiths of Fforestfach, Vice-Chairman of Goldman Sachs Ltd.
  • Stelios Haji-Ioannou, Chairman of EasyGroup and Graduate of The Centre in 1989
13.45 - 14.45: LIGHT BUFFET
14.45 - 17.15: FINANCIAL MARKETS

Chairman: The Lord Bagri, CBE, Chairman of Metdist Ltd


  • Professor David Blake, Cass Business School
  • Mr. Wilber Colmerauer, Director of Liability Solutions
  • Mr. Thomas Huertas, Director of Wholesale Firms, and Banking Sector Leader of The Financial Services Authority
  • Professor Harry Kat, Cass Business School


9.00 - 10.00: COFFEE
10.00 - 12.45: ENERGY

Chairman: Alderman Sir David Howard, Bt, Chairman of Charles Stanley & Co. Ltd.

Setting the Scene:

Dr. Faith Birol, Chief Economist of International Energy Agency, OECD

Keynote Speaker:

HE Abdulla Bin Hamad Al-Attiyah, Second Deputy Premier and Minister of Energy & Industry at Qatar


  • Dr. Ali Al-Obaidi, Advisor to the Minister of Oil in Iraq
  • Mr. Efthymios N. Christodoulou, Chairman and Chief Executive of Helenic Petroleum
  • Professor Roy Leighton, Chairman of NYMEX Europe Ltd.
  • Mr John Mills, Vice-President of Strategy at Royal Dutch Shell
12.45 - 13.45: LIGHT BUFFET
13.45 - 16.15: MARITIME BUSINESS

Chairman: Alderman Sir Gavyn Arthur

Keynote Speaker:

Mr. Efthymios E. Mitropoulos, Secretary General of International Maritime Organization


  • Mr. Jean-Francois Cristau, Chairman of Euromar Shipping Plc.
  • Professor Costas Th. grammenos, OBE, Cass Business School
  • Mr. Thomas Intrator, President of Cargill Ocean Transportation
  • Mr. Nicholas Tsakos, President of Tsakos Energy Navigation and Graduate of The Centre in 1986
  • Mr. Christian von Oldershausen, Managing Director of HCI Hanseatische Schiffsconsult GmbH
16.15 - 18.00: CLOSING DRINKS